Review: City of Bones (Mortal Instruments)

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/0/0f/City_of_Bones.jpg/200px-City_of_Bones.jpg

Sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is an ordinary teenager, who likes hanging out in Brooklyn with her friends. But everything changes the night she witnesses a murder, committed by a group of teens armed with medieval weaponry. The murderous group are Shadowhunters, secret warriors dedicated to driving demons out of this dimension and back into their own. Drawn inexorably into a terrifying world, Clary slowly begins to learn the truth about her family – and the battle for the fate of the world.

Second half of my 2 for 1 is Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones from her Mortal Instruments quintilogy. I’d never normally have picked this up, but as I work with teenagers and they’re all into this, I figured I should give it a go. Plus, there was nothing else on the shelf. Plus it was coming out as a movie and I knew my mother would want to see it.

It’s not bad. It’s a thick book but only took a couple of days. I’m glad it was an easy read or I probably wouldn’t have actually finished it. I haven’t had the energy to read the sequels (mainly because I read something much better and when I tried to go back to this, I just couldn’t face it).

There’s enough mystery to keep you intrigued. I guessed half of it before the end, but there were still some surprises. It’s also got enough of it’s own ideas (the Shadowhunters, Angel Raziel) combined with classical concepts (vampires, werewolves, demons) to make it an interesting world to discover.

Unfortunately, there’s a love triangle. Because there isn’t enough conflict already without one clearly. And everyone became very capable very quickly. But were also very stupid. But that’s always the way.

Somehow, I still managed to have a favourite though. Simon. The geeky, sweet one who stupid things keep happening to (like getting turned into a rat) and being but who also gets to have his moment when he saves the day. I’m the one shouting at Clary to choose him, just like I was shouting at Bella to choose Jacob. It’s good to know I’m not a sucker for bad boys, even in fiction. 🙂

The film was poor, even in comparison.

Leave a Reply

